Proposed Policy: GBRIB - Sick Leave Bank (10/18/18)

System Teacher of the Year Named

IMG 9745Jami Willis, Irwin County High School Science teacher and teacher of the year, was named as the Irwin County School System teacher of the year at the regular Board of Education meeting on Monday, November 12.

Ms. Willis is a 1993 graduate of Tift Co. High School and 1997 graduate of Georgia Southern (Bachelor's degree in Middle Grades Ed: Science and Math).  She has a Master of Science in Post Secondary Education from Troy University and is currently working on her EdS in Curriculum and Instruction at Kennesaw State University to graduate in May 2019. She holds certifications to teach PK-5; 4-8 Math, Science, and Reading; and 6-12 Science. She also has a Gifted Certification and is Google Educator Certified. She has been teaching for 22 years--8 years in Newton County Schools, 9 years in Cook County Schools, 2 years in Tift County Schools, and this is her third year in Irwin County.

Congratulations, Ms. Willis! 

REACH Scholars Announced

REACH Scholarship RecipientsCongratulations to our 2018-2019 REACH Scholars: Mona Eady, Jaabari Woodard, Tyler Brock, Sania Ross, and Izabella Cleghorn.

REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen) Georgia is the state's first needs-based mentorship and college scholarship program. Launched by Governor Nathan Deal in 2012, the program "rewards students for self-accountability, promotes parent involvement and provides motivation and support; all factors that we know are critical in student educational achievement,” said Governor Deal at the launch of the program.

The program is administered by the Georgia Student Finance Authority (GSFA). Donations from local educators in Irwin County has made it possible for local students to be eligible to receive at least $150,000 in scholarships for post-secondary education. At this year's ceremony  on October 24, Dr. Thad Clayton, Superintendent of Irwin County Schools, commended the employees of Irwin County Schools and the community for supporting the program.

2018 ICHS Graduates

2018 ICHS Graduates

Congratulations to the 2018 graduating class of Irwin County High School. Irwin's graduation ceremony will be held on Friday, May 25, at Indian Field beginning at 8 pm.

Former ICHS Students Deployed to Korea

Paulk and DeberryKristen Paulk, 2017 ICHS graduate, arrived for deployment in South Korea and was met by one of Irwin County's own, Deangelo Deberry, 2016 graduate of ICHS. Deangelo is stationed in Korea and helps to process soldiers as they arrive at the airport. It was nice for her to be greeted by a familiar face. Kristen is the daughter of Rhonda and Tracy Paulk of Ocilla. Rhonda is a Special Education teacher at Irwin County Elementary.

Valedictorian, Salutatorian Announced

2018 Valedictorian and SalutatorianIrwin County High School principal Scott Haskins has announced the 2018 Valedictorian, Robby Espano, and Salutatorian Alex Clady. Robby is the son of Joel Espano and Dr. Romana-Bairan, and Alex is the son of  Kevin and Kim Clady.

Not only are Robby and Alex excellent students, but they have been very involved in athletics, clubs, organizations, and the community.


Toll-Free School Safety Hotline

The 1-877-SAY-STOP toll-free hotline was created by the Georgia Department of Education. Students can anonymously report anyone who has a weapon, has threatened to bring a weapon to school, or has violated any other school safety rules. The hotline hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; after 5 p.m. all calls will be forwarded to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Callers will not be asked to reveal their identities. Make the call; you can make a difference!